Color. art inside…

Contrary to public belief, I have made prototypes these 2 months, but I just didn’t have enough time to finish them. Anyway, this months EGP theme caught my attention. Art game. Nice. So I started working on my prototype. Interacting with a computer via microphone has always amazed me, so I tried to integrate that in my game.Β  This is what I came up in 7 days.

Color. art inside…
7-day game by Alin Baciu

Download
color.rar (6.6 mb)

Instructions:

THE WORLD NEEDS COLOR

Controls:

This game is to be played using a microphone. Without one, you will not be able to play.

As a suggestion, you could blow in the microphone for a quick and easy move πŸ˜‰

noise in microphone – move
left, right – turn
up, down – change color
space – paint

Please make sure your microphone is on “loud” πŸ™‚

Troubleshooting

If you have problems getting the game to run I’d suggest installing the newest DirectX 9.0c drivers, XNA 3.1 and making sure you have .net framework 3.5 installed.

Credits

Game design, code & gfx made by Alin Baciu (bc_alin{[@]}yahoo{[dot]}co{[dot]}uk)

Music: DoKashiteru – Yourgh .

The game uses Irrklang and XNA 3.1.

Inspiration source: Experimental Gameplay Project.

The game itself is under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 license.

Please post your feedback

Peace πŸ™‚

12 Responses to “Color. art inside…”

  1. Timotei Dolean Says:

    Nice one ! Good job !

  2. Timotei Dolean Says:

    I like the way you blended all the things: music, sounds and colors in a beautiful game. It really caught me up. Also I like the drawing, did you make it?

    OFF: I wonder why u switched to XNA?

    • well, thank you for you comment. I’m glad you like the game πŸ™‚ Only some of the drawing are mine. the other ones cam be found on Google :). as for the switch to XNA, it’s because I was testing the microphone thing for another game, which is supposed to be in XNA. I only do stuff in XNA when I don’t have a choice πŸ™‚

  3. Victor Porof Says:

    Well, now, try to make it multilayer. It would be fun if it was a race, too. Imagine each player screaming: go! go, damn it! in the microphone louder and louder to be faster.

    I really like it, it’s fun!

  4. sasracer Says:

    Love the game! Its really cool! However, are there really extra colors? I didn’t find any.

    • hello! glad you like the game:)you’re the first one asking about this. it’s sort of an Easter egg:) there aren’t any more colors, cause I ran out of time:)

  5. I couldn’t find the extra colors either, but I did find the end text, which was good because if I hadn’t I would have run off the end and felt like the game was broken or something. πŸ™‚
    I liked it overall, blowing continuously was annoying, and felt like I was just pushing another button. So, it could have been a bit more experimental. Good enough art and music and unique presentation to keep me interested to the end, so that’s something. πŸ™‚

  6. Welcome to GFXshare.us – Free GFX source for you…

    […]Color. art inside… « AwkwardGames – Quote: "AwkwardGames ftw!"[…]…

Leave a Reply

